top of page

The Toothbrushing Badge

When Noah's teeth first started to come through, I immediately took him straight to the dentist. I wanted to make sure that he wasn't scared of anything like that, and my plan was to start a good habit early, and never miss a checkup.


The first visit went as well as it could have done, with a wriggly toddler who couldn't quite fathom why someone had their fingers in his mouth, but I was fairly confident that the next time would be okay too. And then Covid hit.


We couldn't see a dentist for so long afterwards, that by the time we could, Noah's diagnosis and difficulties were very much in play, and suddenly the whole idea of trying to get him to lie still on the dentist chair became a challenge I just didn't have the guts to face.


It took for the dentist to finally email me and tell me that they would rescind his place on their books to get me to bite the bullet and try. That was just a few weeks ago.


One of Noah's teeth has begun to turn and create a gap over the last few months, and I was concerned that as it wasn't loose, maybe he was grinding or chewing it out of line, so I knew it really was time for a proper check up.


I prepped the dentist that he would need extra time, and they seemed happy to assist with that. A good friend also gave me the idea of trying to take some clear pictures of Noah's teeth whilst we were at home and he was calm, incase he wouldn't let the dentist look inside his mouth which turned out to be really useful.


When we got into the room, I made sure to repeat that he is autistic and might find it overwhelming, and to take it slowly with him. Both the dental nurse and the dentist were so patient and calm with him. They let him climb the chair and inspect the room, taking his time to get comfortable.


Initially, he didn't want to open up his mouth for anyone, and refused to let the dentist use the little mirror to see the backs of his teeth. He kept trying to grab at the mirror so she handed it to me, and I let Noah hold it with me as we guided it into his mouth. All the dentist had to do then was gently twist the end of the tool in my grip to angle it where she needed to see. I then showed her the pictures I'd taken and she used those to document the condition of his teeth, which she said were in great condition.


I then had a check up myself and some X-rays taken, so Noah had to step outside with the dental nurse who was fantastic at keeping him calm and making it a game. Between the two of them they really made the experience less daunting and so much more successful than I thought it would be. The dentist reassured me that his wonky tooth was moving was because his new teeth underneath were wiggling into position, and we would probably loose his first tooth very soon.


At the end of the visit, she told me her nephew was also autistic, and that I reminded her of her sister, that I was patient with him and doing a really good job. I don't need to tell you what happens when you tell a stressed out and anxious mum that we're doing a good job..! Once I composed myself and dried my eyes, she gave Noah a sticker, and we were done!


I worried for so long about taking him back to the dentist, and I will definitely work myself into another frenzy when his next check up is due I'm sure, but I must work harder on not underestimating him. He is capable of so much more.


The wonky tooth is now holding on by a thread, wobbling its way to freedom. Expect another post soon about writing a letter to the tooth fairy for something other than cash!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page