top of page

Hog Rides & Coffee


I love a good story, for me there’s nothing better than getting stuck into a really engaging book. Since Noah started school, and I’ve been able to claw back some free time, it’s become something of an escape for me from the less favourable part of being a parent.

It’s a love that Noah and I share, and although he definitely has a specific taste in books (Hey Duggee ALWAYS!) and usually follows the story in pictures rather than words, there’s no denying he loves them.

So this morning, I took us out on a little shopping trip for some more books. I didn’t expect him to really enjoy the shopping side of things but he was so patient while I was skimming the shelves. He kept asking me to dance (rocking side to side while holding my hands) which was fine, and held my hand whenever I needed him to.

I thought I’d treat him to a Burger King for his lunch as a cheeky half term treat and for being so good for me, but when we walked in there he suddenly started hanging off my arm and trying to drag me out of the door. We acknowledge all communication with Noah, so I followed his lead and we left.

We made our way to the exit of the shopping centre, and I figured he wasn’t hungry yet, it was early for lunch so I decided just to feed him at home. Opposite the entrance of the shopping centre is a Costa. He happily marched all the way over to it so I tried my luck there. Sure enough, he picked a huge gingerbread biscuit and a fruit shoot, much more enthusiastic with this particular treat!

Later we stopped by another couple of book shops, and walked past a children’s motorbike ride. Noah did a double take, stopped in his tracks and then dragged me back to it, climbing on top expectantly. Noah has never shown an interest in this sort of thing before. He’s only ever been on the ones I’ve thrown him into in a desperate attempt at forced fun. For him to see it, ask for it, and then thoroughly enjoy himself once shock and pride made me buy him a go (£2 for 1 minute!!!) is huge for him.

I’m loving watching him change and develop recently. He’s come on so much in his engagement and his enjoyment of the world around him and it’s just beautiful.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page